In an announcement made on Wednesday, the Oscar academy invited 774 new members to the family from 57 different countries. The announcement was made on the official website by Cheryl Boone Isaacs, President of the Academy of Motion Pictures, Arts and Sciences.

It read, “We’re proud to invite our newest class to the academy. The entire motion picture is what we make of it.  It’s up to all of us to ensure that new faces and voices are seen and heard and to take a shot at the next generation the way someone took a shot on each of us.”

Actors from India like Amitabh Bachchan, Aamir Khan, Irffan Khan, Priyanka Chopra, Deepika Padukone, Salman Khan, and directors like Mrinal Sen, Buddhadeb Dasgupta, Goutam Ghose are among the ones invited into the list. Apart from these, writers like Anand Patwardhan and Sooni Taraporevala also got themselves an invite to join the family.

The Indian-born Mohit Kallianpur, Mahesh Ramasubramanian is known for their work in visual effects for Hollywood films like Frozen and Shrek respectively are a part of this list.

Talented Actors like Gal Gadot (Wonder Woman fame), Naomie Harris (Oscar Nominee for Moonlight), Chris Hemsworth, Dwayne Johnson, Leslie Jones, Betty White, Chris Pratt, Margot Robbie, Channing Tatum, Kristen Stewart, Shailene Woodley, Amy Poehler, Riz Ahmed, Adam Driver, Ruth Negga, Rupert Grint and Directors like Jordan Peele, David Ayer, Theodore Melfi, Barry Jenkins etc., are also among the list of invitees into the Oscar Academy.